G Love And Special Sauce

Last night we did something wild and crazy!  We went to a concert.
Nick’s friend came up with this outlandish idea, having heard the band before: G. Love and Special Sauce.  I’d never heard of them before so I was up for giving it ago.

We headed down to the House of Blues.  I’d never been there before, but it’s actually a really cool venue.  I didn’t take any pictures of the lobby area but they have all kinds of funky stuff hanging on the walls, like a bunch of shoes.
We enjoyed our $11 Bud Light and $7 Shiner (ridiculous) before the show started.

Watched the opening act: Kristy Lee.  I thought she had a really strong voice, similar to Amy Winehouse.

Then came the main act: G. Love and Special Sauce.  They, too, were really great musicians, but I was really confused by their genre.  It’s sort of Eminem meets John Mayer, just a really strange combination.  Rap meets super mellow male artist music.  I couldn’t wrap my mind around it.   It was too all over the place for me.

They brought Kristy Lee out to join them twice and to be honest, I thought those were the best parts of the G. Love show.  Separately, Kristy Lee and G. Love and Special Sauce were okay, but together, they were much stronger.  They  were so much more dynamic, lighting up the stage together.

While I’m not rushing out to buy G. Love and Special Sauce’s latest CD, they weren’t bad.  If I ever can get past their strange mix of genres, then I think I would listen to them again, but for now I’ll leave them as strong artists with a strange mix of sounds.

 Have any of you heard of G. Love and Special Sauce?  Love them?  Hate them?  What are your thoughts?

Leave a comment