La Madeleine Inspiration


Last Thursday evening I had a Delta Gamma Foundation of Dallas meeting at La Madeleine.  These meetings have a tendency to drag of forever so I made sure to order dinner.  Typically, when I know that I will be eating out, I go online and look at menus ahead of time.  Otherwise, I’ll spend way too long trying to decide what I want while the waiter or waitress is impatiently tapping on his/her note pad waiting for me to order.  Having a plan ahead of time spares everyone the agony of my decision-making process.  Last Thursday was no different.  I had a plan to order the Turkey Bistro sandwich, however once I arrived to La Madeleine, I saw all the flashy signs for new entrees.  So new, they aren’t even on the website yet!  The pictures scrolled on their electronic screen of the new dishes and my mouth began to water when I saw the new pork dish.  I wish I could remember what it was called exactly (since it’s still not online yet), but it was something like Balsamic Glazed Pork with Roasted Vegetables.  Yum!  Of course my original plan totally changed and I ordered this new pork dish.  The guy at the register even said it was amazing, so it was an easy switch.

My buzzer finally went off signaling me to get my newly anticipated Balsamic Glazed Pork.  Just as the menu described, it came with roasted vegetables and a quinoa salad.  The meeting began and I enjoyed my dinner.  Losing concentration on the topic at hand, my thoughts quickly went to, “I can totally make this at home!” and “In fact, I can build on it, adding other veggies like brussels sprouts and cauliflower.”  I spent most of the two-hour meeting thinking about recreating this yummy dinner and before I knew it, it was time to head home!

Fast forward a few days, I stocked up the refrigerator and went to town making my La Madeleine inspiration.  While I don’t have an exact recipe for you yet (I’m horrible about measuring things and it still needs a little tweaking anyway) plan on seeing one soon!  But in the meantime, here are a few snapshots of my version of Balsamic Glazed Pork with Roasted Vegetables and Quinoa Salad!
Balsamic vinegar simmering and reducing down to a nice thick glaze

The one of the biggest heads of cauliflower I’ve ever seen (and it was the smallest one at the grocery store)!  This picture doesn’t do justice as to how large this cauliflower is!  The sign at the grocery store said it’s from Texas.  As the saying goes, everything is bigger in Texas!

The finished product.

 And the all important close up shot!

I’m working on my photography skills.  As you can see, I haven’t mastered the art of making food look amazing.  It doesn’t help that you can see the paper towels, soap, and dish scrubber in the background!  Ha!  Eventually I’ll upgrade to using a real camera instead of my phone to take all these lovely pictures, but for now, you’ll have to use your imagination and know that most everything I whip up is pretty yummy despite poor picture quality!  Nick can attest to that, too.

Leave a Reply

