A Walk In The Park

You may remember my post about my lucky blue dress.  Well, I think I have an unlucky pair of blue jeans.
They aren’t anything particularly special.  I bought them right around New Year’s from the Gap.  I was feeling very out of date with my existing jeans selection and with all my working out lately, I finally felt comfortable about getting skinny jeans.  Well, they are actually straight leg jeans since the Gap was out of my size in the color of skinny jeans I wanted.  At any rate, they don’t flare at the bottom, something I’ve avoided for a long time because I feel like the flare balances out my seemingly thick quads.  Now that I’ve jumped on the bandwagon, I love them, however every time I’ve worn them this year, I’ve had bad luck.  A lot of bad news has come my way this month and while it might not be the fault of the jeans, I am wearing them every time bad news hits.

This weekend was a nice, sunny weekend so Nick and I decided to go to White Rock Lake for a walk.
 Thinking we weren’t going to walk more than a mile or two, I put on my new (unlucky) jeans and we headed out.   Well, after about three miles, we had to make a critical decision: keep going or turn back as we were getting close to the half-way point of four and a half miles.  At this point, I realized I should have worn my running shoes for this trek instead of my casual walking shoes, and perhaps a pair of socks, but I was feeling okay, so we decided to make the loop around the entire lake.
White Rock Lake Water Works 1

White Rock Lake Water Works 2  We made it to about the halfway point and I knew I made the wrong decision.  My feet were killing me!  But there was no turning back, cause either way we went, it was four and a half miles back to the car.
White Rock LakeNick had to listen to me complain the rest of the way around the lake.  The funny thing is, is that I wore these same shoes over the summer when we visited the flea market in Canton, TX and logged five miles that day and ran into the same experience.  You would have thought I learned my lesson, right?  After several stops, we finally made it around the lake.  I was so happy to get in the car and take my shoes off, driving barefoot all the way home.

When we got home, I walked by the mirror and saw that both of my heels were covered in blood!  I’ll spare you any pictures of the damage, but the pain equaled exactly how it looked!  (It took me about 48 hours before I could put shoes on that covered the heels of my feet, and it still hurt!)  So while the unlucky blue jeans didn’t cause the bloody blisters, had I not wore them, I wouldn’t have worn those particular shoes and I would have saved myself the pain and pints (well, not really that much) of blood lost.

Now, if you remember, last month, I posted about a few job interviews I had coming up.  Well, I should be hearing VERY soon on both of them and I’m scared to wear those damn jeans.  I don’t even want to touch them or even look at them!  No more bad luck!  I refuse to wear those jeans until I get some good luck my way!

Do you have anything that you feel brings you good or bad luck?

2 responses to “A Walk In The Park

  1. Stay away from the shoes too… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pretty In Pink | The Urban Retrofit

Leave a Reply

