Back To (Lunchtime) Normal

It’s day three in the new year and day one back at the office in 2012.  All the holiday treats are gone and the Fat Days are over and it’s time to get back into my normal eating routine at the office.  I would love to say that I make gourmet meals every night to bring to work the next day for lunch, and while I do make pretty tasty dinners, leftovers are rare in our house, so the lack of time and leftovers equals frozen entrees for lunch.  I’ve tried several brands: Healthy Choice, Lean Cuisine, Eating Right (that might be a Tom Thumb brand, but I’m not sure), just to name a few.  But by far, my favorite brand of frozen entrees is Kashi.  While they don’t claim to be diet food, the different entrees come it at right around 300 calories, give or take, depending on the entree.  I’ve tried just about all of them and love all but one that I’ve tried.

Today is Chicken Pasta Pomodoro (along with an orange and a Camelbak full or water).

While a home-cooked lunch might beat a frozen entree, I really like the Kashi entrees because they have a reasonable amount of calories and a healthy balance between protein, carbs, and fat.  They, along with my selected piece of fruit, keep me satisfied through the afternoon.

The Chicken Pasta Pomodoro isn’t my favorite though, although I do enjoy it.  I need to add a little bit of salt to this dish to make the favors pop more.  I love the Mayan Harvest Bake, and if I had to choose a favorite, I guess this would be the one.  I love the sweet plantains in it along with the kale and quinoa (ingredients that you wouldn’t find in other major frozen entree brands).  It’s also vegan, which doesn’t matter for my diet, but it’s nice to know that not every meal I eat has to have a meat product or by-product in it in order to give me the healthy  balance of proteins, carbs, and fat. Other favorites include the Lemongrass Chicken (yum, major flavor), Pesto Pasta Primavera (I love pesto and this one doesn’t disappoint), and the new Spicy Black Bean Enchilada (it’s pretty spicy for frozen entree standards).

Another big time favorite of mine is the Red Curry Chicken, but I can no longer find it.  I’m afraid the makers of Kashi may have pulled it to replace it with the new Three Cheese Penne (which I’ve tried and approve of it).  If this was the case, I’d be very disappointed.  I’m a big fan of Red Curry and while I know it’s not very healthy from Thia takeout, this is what I always order (but with tofu).  So when I came across the Kashi Red Curry Chicken, I was super excited to have the red curry flavor within a healthy calorie range.  Even better, there are sweet potatoes in it.  I’ve never had sweet potatoes in red curry before so if I attempt to make red curry at home sometime, I’ll be sure to add sweet potatoes.  Anyway, if anyone out there from Kashi is reading this, don’t get rid of my beloved Red Curry Chicken.  If you need to replace the new Three Cheese Penne, replace it with the Sweet and Sour Chicken.  I don’t like that one.  All others I approve of!  (FYI, if you are looking to try the Kashi frozen entrees, I’ve found that Target has the best selection and best price.  Central Market comes in second, with slightly fewer selections but the same price, surprisingly.  They are ridiculously over-priced at Tom Thumb and Whole Foods and Wal-Mart has only two of the entree types.  I think Kroger falls somewhere in the middle.)

What do you all eat for lunch during the week?

3 responses to “Back To (Lunchtime) Normal

  1. I’m starving…..

  2. Pingback: Thai Takeout Fake Out | The Urban Retrofit

Leave a Reply

