Christmas 2011 Recap

I’ll try to spare you the long-drawn out recap of Christmas since I’m sure my Christmas was much like yours; family, food, presents.

Nick and I took off on Friday afternoon and headed to Durham, NC to spend the long weekend with his step-brother, sister-in-law, and two nieces.  Nick’s mom and step-dad joined us from Washington as well.  We spent a few hours catching up with everyone before hitting the sack.  I was up bright and early on Saturday, mostly because I had to go to the bathroom and couldn’t fall back asleep, which meant Nick was up, reluctantly, bright and early as well.  We had brunch reservations at 11:00 AM at the Washington Duke, a very nice Inn right near the Duke campus, but I wanted to get a little bit of a workout in before we started to gorge ourselves.  I was scheduled to do a 15 mile run, but I knew that being a holiday weekend and in a neighborhood I wasn’t familiar with, I probably wasn’t going to do all 15 miles.  I got geared up and programmed 4 miles into my Nike+ GPS and took off.  Unfortunately, not knowing where I was going, I ended up going down lots of roads that ended in cul-de-sacs, so my initial plan of a 4 mile run ended up being a 5 mile run due to lack of neighborhood connectivity and running down too many dead-end streets.  Anyway, after the run, I got cleaned up and we all headed to the Washington Duke.

The rest of Saturday was spent lounging.  The boys went to the guitar store and ended up picking up monopoly on the way home.  Apparently Nick’s family gets very competitive when it comes to board games, so competitive that certain games are no longer allowed due to the trauma they’ve caused.  Although there was a bit of wheeling and dealing, our game of monopoly ended up being very civil (probably because we never actually finished).  After grazing on appetizers and a “friendly” game of monopoly, we put some cookies out for Santa and Nick’s nieces headed to bed.  Knowing we’d be woken up fairly early, the adults didn’t stay up much later!

Sunday morning came with two little girls knocking on our bedroom door, saying, “Nick, Kim, time to get up!”  Santa came and we were being waited on so we put ourselves together and headed down for the great present-opening festivities.

Christmas morning
The Stella Christmas Tree
Presents were followed by a yummy Christmas breakfast of eggnog french toast, eggs, bacon, and fruit.  Then it was on to stockings!  The festivities wound down and I made a spot on the couch to get some good quality magazine-catch-up-reading done.  (I hate falling behind on my magazines, but it seems to happen every month!  I guess that’s the trouble with having FOUR subscriptions!)

The day passed by and between lounging and chatting with the women, it was a very low-key Christmas.  Nick’s step-brother and sister-in-law made a wonderful Christmas dinner and when we sat down, we went around the room to say what we were thankful for.  This brought some tears as it’s been a tough year health-wise in Nick’s family, so we were all pretty thankful to have each other together on this day.

Monday came and it was time to pack up and say our goodbyes, but plans are being made for the next get-together.  All in all, it was a nice time spending the holiday with Nick’s family.  I’m lucky to have this new family welcome me in with open arms!

Leave a Reply

