Top 15 Christmas Questions

So I’m borrowing today’s blog idea from Food And Fitness 4 Real, who borrowed it from Clean Eating Chelsey, and beyond that, I don’t know where it came from, so thank you ladies for a fun blog survey!  This survey is going to be a little tough for me, since Nick and I have only had two official Christmases together and we will be out of town for this year’s Christmas.  So I’m going do a hodge-podge of our Christmases together as well as the Christmases from growing up.

1. Does Santa wrap presents or just put them under the tree?
Growing up: definitely wrapped, under the tree.  Where would the fun be of gifts that didn’t need to be unwrapped
Christmas with Nick: Normally wrapped, next to the fire-place.  This year they were (we did our Christmas a week early) unwrapped.

Christmas 2009

Christmas 2010

Christmas 2011

2. Colored lights on tree/house or white?
Growing up: White for sure!  On both the house and the tree.  I always wanted the colored twinkling lights as a kid, but in retrospect, I appreciate the white.  They are much classier.
Christmas with Nick: Mixed.  We haven’t had a “real” tree (see explanation below) since we’ve been together, but we’ve hung lights on the balcony outside as well as the staircase guard rail inside.  Nick bought the colored lights.  I bought the white lights.  (If I have my way, eventually we will use all white lights.)

3. Do you hang mistletoe?
Growing up: Yup!  We had a big ball of it.  It was fake, but now that my mom lives in Oregon they’ve got that stuff growing wild on the trees that line the drive up to her house.
Christmas with Nick: No, it’s hard to find mistletoe, real or fake, anymore  but I saw a write-up in a magazine that I recently read with a place that you can order it from (the company is in Oregon, of course).  If we were staying in town this year, I would have ordered some.  I would like to start that tradition up again!

4. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?
Growing up: Probably breakfast.  I think it changed every year, but we always had a nice breakfast together on Christmas morning.
Christmas with Nick: Starbucks.  It’s not really a dish, but it’s something we’ve had together on Christmas morning the past two years.  We venture out to the Starbucks across the street- Nick gets a Venti Caramel Macchiato and I get a Tall Non-fat Chai- and bring them home to sip on as we open presents.  (Besides, I think of Thanksgiving more of a food holiday than Christmas.)

5. Favorite holiday memory as a child?
Growing up: Ooh, that’s tough.  I really have to think about that one…. I remember getting underwear that had frills on it and I was so embarrassed to open it in front of everyone.  I was probably 7 or 8.  I don’t know if that’s a favorite holiday memory, but it’s a memory that stuck with me, and it’s funny to think about it much later in life!
Christmas with Nick: This question doesn’t apply.

6. Snow, love it or dread it?
Growing up: Growing up in New England, it was part of Christmas and the holiday season.  As a little kid, it was fun to play in the snow, make snow angels, sledding, and go skiing.  As I got older, particularly when I was in grad school in Michigan, I HATED it!  It was pretty and serene for a few hours and then it was miserable.
Christmas with Nick: Now that I live in Texas, I miss the seasons.  It doesn’t feel like the holidays with out snow.  (The grass is always greener, right?)

7. Real tree or fake?
Growing up: Real, all the way.  Being in New England, it was almost a tradition (I say almost because it didn’t happen every year) to go to the Christmas Tree farm and cut our own tree down.  (Ah, that’s a good holiday memory from growing up!)
Christmas with Nick: Real miniature tree.  Our place is way to small for a normal sized Christmas tree.  Last year was the biggest of our trees, residing on top of the coffee table.
Christmas tree of 2010
Christmas 2009 was a rosemary tree.  This year’s tree is more like a fern.

8. What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?
Growing up: presents.  Haha 🙂
Christmas with Nick: Spending the day with Nick and starting to build our own new traditions together (although there are very few right now).

9. What is your favorite holiday dessert?
Growing up: That’s another tough one.  Chocolate chip cookies maybe or chocolate chip pie.  I don’t really remember a lot of sweets from my childhood.
Christmas with Nick: Like I said, I think of Thanksgiving as being the food holiday.  I could care less about having sweets at Christmas.  But if someone brings a sweet treat to the office or we are at a holiday party, I’ll probably have a little nibble.

10. What is your favorite tradition?
Growing up: I guess this is the almost tradition of going to the Christmas Tree farm and cutting a fresh tree.
Christmas with Nick: Starbucks!

11. What tops your tree?
Growing up: When I was very young, we had an angel.  As a teenager, my mom changed it to a big red bow with the ends streaming down the tree.  It was very pretty.
Christmas with Nick: Our biggest tree we had (see picture above of the Christmas tree 2010) came with a bow on it (Thanks for the Christmas Tree topper, Whole Foods!).  This year our “fern” tree is too delicate for ornaments or anything to put on top of it.

12. What is your favorite Christmas song?
Growing up: I loved all the traditional Christmas carols.  I used to sing them with Jim, my step-dad, in the car to ourselves.  We Three Kings Of Orient Are really sticks out in my mind as one we sang a lot.
Christmas with Nick: My boss’s son, Austin, who is six, visits our office every now and then.  Back in September when Austin came for a visit, my podmates and I heard this little kid voice singing religious Christmas songs.  We all started to giggle, it was so cute listening to Austin sing the songs that he’d been learning at Catholic school (several months prior to the holidays)!  So while it’s not a specific song per say, hearing the songs from a little kid’s voice is always a hoot (and I’m sure that’s exactly how I sounded way back when Jim and I would sing together in the car).

13. What do you leave for Santa?
Growing up: Cookies and milk for Santa and carrots for the reindeer.
Christmas with Nick: Nothing, although, Nick probably pours him some Crystal Light in the middle of the night.

14. Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?
Growing up: Wake up early and wake everyone else up.  Open presents and eat breakfast.  Sometimes it was eat first then presents, other times it was presents (and coffee for the adults) first and eat breakfast after.
Christmas with Nick: Sleep in (which for me is 7:30 AM), go to Starbucks, come home and open presents and maybe have a bagel sandwich for breakfast.

15. Do you prefer to shop online or at the mall?
Growing up: Well, the internet isn’t what it is today back then, so for sure the mall!
Christmas with Nick: If I can get it online, I totally will.  Otherwise, I go to the store.  I avoid the traditional mall at all costs, going to stores that have stand-alone locations or are in more of a strip mall, like a free-standing or strip Gap or Target.  (Dallas traditional malls are the worse in terms of crowds that I’ve seen in all the places I’ve lived, while the strip malls aren’t nearly as bad.)

Of these questions, which is your favorite?  Answer it in regards to how you celebrate the holidays.

3 responses to “Top 15 Christmas Questions

  1. Get your Mom to send you some mistletoe next year. It will be up high in the trees so she she’ll have to shoot it down – that’s what longtime Oregonians do…..of course, they all have guns, lots of guns!

  2. Next year when the leaves fall and we can see the mistletoe, we will shoot it down and send it to you for the holiday. Right now I am looking out my window upstairs and see three bunches in the oak tree in my line of vision. I forget how fortunate we are to live here, like seeing snow covered mountains on the way to work and not having to drive in it!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

