Jetsetting Stop 2- NoCal

I’m going to try to make this quick as it is already WAY past my bedtime, but I wanted to post on my most recent trip before too much time passes.  So from my previous blog, you may have read that I was in route to San Francisco.  Nick was asked by his childhood friend, Dave, to be in his wedding, so we decided to make a long vacation out of it.  Prior to this wedding, all the out of town weddings we’d been to were very short trips- rush, rush, rush.  So this time we decided to slow down and enjoy ourselves.  We landed right around 9:45 AM on Saturday and after picking up our huge rental car (like 5 times the size of our rental car in Mexico) we headed straight to REI.  On our last trip out to San Francisco, Nick left his really nice Marmot jacket on the plane and since then, we’ve been in search for a replacement.  After spending 2 and a half hours and $500 dollars (most of which was returned midway through our travels) at REI, we finally walked out and headed over to Marin to see one of my best friends, Megan and her family.  They threw us a great backyard dinner in celebration of our engagement.  Mark, Megan’s fiance, made the most awesome greek-style turkey burgers!  Thanks for such a yummy dinner, Mark, Megan, and the rest of the Cherry family!

On Sunday, Megan, Mark, Nick and I headed up to Sonoma for wine tasting.  It was like old times, just a little classier!

Megan and I are about to take a chocolate wine shot.  Very yummy!

On Monday, it was off to Tahoe for Nick and me.  We stayed in South Lake Tahoe, but ended up going to the north side for the day on Tuesday.  Nick’s mom and step dad have a house (which they actually just sold a few days after we were up there) on the north side that Nick was eager to show me.  Lots of childhood memories for him in that house.  After swinging by the old vacation spot neighborhood, Nick and I ventured up the nearby trail to Five Lakes.  It felt really rough at first being at a high elevation already, but after about a quarter mile or half mile, I was able to catch my breath and hold a steady pace.

We aren’t too far up at the point of this picture, but I’m pretty sweaty already!  A storm was blowing in and the sky was getting dark, so worried that we might be caught in a downpour we picked up our pace to the top (instead of turning around and seeking shelter).  Alas, we made it to the top and got to see the Five Lakes, which seemed more like Two Lakes and a Stream.
On the way back down, we actually ran into some people who were from Dallas as well.  Small world!  Luckily we made it back to the car without getting rained on too badly.
On the way back to South Lake Tahoe, we stopped and one of the overlooks and took a few pictures.  It’s kind of hard to tell, but there is a waterfall in the background.  Once we got back to the hotel, it was into the hot tub we go!  After an afternoon of hiking the hot tub felt awesome.  Unfortunately a few hours later after I got out of the shower, I noticed that it turned my hair green!  Yikes!  Luckily it was just the tips that were hanging in the hot tub and not my whole head of hair, but still!  Green hair?!  I told Nick that it would probably wash out, but the next morning he decided to treat me to a day of pampering.  First up was a couple’s massage.  Then he dropped me off at the salon for me to get my hair cut and re-highlighted (bye-bye green hair).  After a 3 hour hair appointment, I walked back to the hotel to find out that Nick made reservations on a Dinner Boat Cruise around Lake Tahoe for our last night there.
On Thursday, we headed back down to the Bay Area, returned the rental car and checked into our hotel in Berkeley.  Friday we went into the city to pick up Nick’s tuxedo and we had lunch we two of my grad school friends, Claire and Peter.  It was great to catch up with them.  We hadn’t seen each other since we graduated four years ago.  Later that evening, Nick had the wedding rehearsal and both of us went to the rehearsal dinner and a cute little french restaurant in Berkeley.  The next day was the wedding.  Nick got all suited up and took off with the rest of the groomsmen.  I met him at the wedding in the Oakland Hills an hour or so later.  The wedding was very nice.  Ali and Dave, the bride and groom, got married overlooking the rolling Northern California hills on a beautiful, sunning afternoon.
While the photographer was taking pictures of the wedding party, I snuck in behind him and snapped a few myself.  Here the guys are doing a goofy pose.  Nick and I have made a name for ourselves as being horrible dancers so we were only on the dance floor for a little bit, but we did enjoy the photo booth that was at the reception.
All in all it was a great trip to Northern California- almost like having three vacations in one!  We definitely got refreshed, but Monday came and it was back to reality.  At least for a little while, until our next adventure begins!

One response to “Jetsetting Stop 2- NoCal

  1. Pingback: Turkey Trot to Stuffed Turkey | The Urban Retrofit

Leave a Reply

